Federal Reserve Announces Steering Committees of New Payments Task Forces

July 21, 2015
For release at 11:30 EDT

The Federal Reserve on Tuesday announced the members of the steering committees of both the Faster Payments Task Force and Secure Payments Task Force described in the Strategies for Improving the U.S. Payment System (PDF) paper released in January 2015. Representatives were elected by the membership to represent stakeholder categories within each task force. Three appointments were made by the Federal Reserve task force chair to ensure that stakeholder perspectives were sufficiently represented.

The steering committees will advise the Federal Reserve task force chair on meeting agendas and assist in prioritizing the various task force activities. The committees will also assist in establishing and recommending the scope of work groups, synthesizing task force perspectives and determining items in need of task force deliberation.

“We are thrilled to have the commitment, expertise and perspectives of these individuals to help us identify opportunities to advance the speed and security of U.S. payments,” said Gordon Werkema, Federal Reserve Payments Strategy Director. “The task forces have chosen an outstanding team to help guide these efforts and provide a balanced representation of payment stakeholder interests.”

The membership of the steering committees is as follows:

Faster Payments Task Force Steering Committee Members:

Gary Beets, Fiscal Service, Department of the Treasury
Wanda Chambers, Suncoast Credit Union
Mitch Christensen, Wells Fargo & Company
Roy DeCicco, Accredited Standards Committee X9
John Drechny, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
Janet Estep, NACHA – The Electronic Payments Association
Peter Gordon, FIS
Mark Keeling, The Bankers Bank
Jordan Lampe, Dwolla, Inc.
Steve Ledford, The Clearing House
Edward Mundt, Hard Rock Café International
Bob Steen, Bridge Community Bank
Gary Stein, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Christina Tetreault, Consumers Union
James Reuter, FirstBank Colorado
Thomas Rea, U.S. Bank
Susan Weinstock, The Pew Charitable Trusts
W. Bradley Wilkes, WingCash LLC
Ryan Zagone, Ripple Labs

Secure Payments Task Force Steering Committee Members:

Trent Addington, Best Buy
Dave Faoro, Verifone, Inc.
Chris Gilbert, Bankers’ Bank of Kansas
Terrence Griffin, CO-OP Financial Services
Reed Luhtanen, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
Suzanne Martindale, Consumers Union
Anthony Meholic, The Bancorp
Cedric Menchion, Killeen Independent School District
Stephen Mott, BetterBuyDesign
Nancy O’Malley, MasterCard
Brian Peretti, Department of the Treasury – OCIP
Frank Perrelli, BNY Mellon
Stephen Ranzini, University Bank
Victoria Strayer, TSYS
Glen Ulrich, U.S. Bank
Matt Wilcox, Fiserv

Media Contacts

Federal Reserve Board:
Susan Stawick, (202) 452-2955